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I ntroduction

As a parent of a special education student, you play a crucial role.
You are not only your child’s most important advocate, you are
also a member of the school team that decides placement and
services for your child.

The Laws on Special Education

= Section 504
* Section 504 of the 1973 Rehabilitation Act provides for
accommodations for students who have disabilities and need
extra assistance at school. Aslong as your child has some type
of diagnosed disability (either from a health care provider,
therapist or psychologist), your child is eligible for a Section
504 Plan.

Some examples of 504 plans include allowing for extratime
on tests, special seating, time out, mentoring and incentive
structures for students with disabilities. These types of
accommodations are available to students with disabilities
who need additional assistance to succeed in school.
Typically, students who have Section 504 plans need minimal
accommodations in mainstream or regular education classes.

A student who qualifies for special education under Section
504, will be entitled to a document called a Section 504 plan
which outlines the areas of need and the necessary
accommodations, and also contains a quarterly log to track the
student’s progress.

— For example, many students with 504 plans are children with
ADHD, ADD, or emotional/behavioral issues who need
assistance in refocusing, test taking, behavior modification
or prompting.

before a three judge panel composed of a Delaware attorney, a
Delaware educator with knowledge of special education and a lay
person with knowledge of special education.

If you are unsuccessful at Due Process, you have theright to
appeal to Federal District Court or Delaware State Family
Court within 90 days from date of decision.

L egal Representation

You are entitled to represent your child's interests at a due process
hearing before an administrative body without an attorney. |If you
choose to have legal representation, you may be able to collect
attorneys fees for any actions arising out of the due process
complaint. Attorneys’ fees are available if you are successful in
your due process complaint for drafting the complaint,
participation in mediation, resolution meetings, the due process
hearing or court proceedings. No attorneys fees are available for
attorney representation prior to filing for due process. The school
district is also entitled to seek attorneys fees for due process
complaints that are frivolous, unreasonable, or for an improper
purpose in limited circumstances.

If vou file a complaint in good faith and withdraw it if the
complaint isno longer valid, you are not subject to this
sanction.

However, if you proceed to court (either federal or family court)
you must be represented by an attorney.

Because special education is often costly for schools to develop
and implement, you will likely have to advocate for your child
throughout his or her education to receive the appropriate services
and placement.

If your child has not received appropriate accommodations, has
not received proper placement, or the school has not complied
with your child’s 504 plan or IEP, you may want to contact
Community Legal Aid Society, Inc. for further information.
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A new 45 day period begins each time a party amends the
complaint.

5. If you find you have more issues that you want to raise you
must seek the school district’s consent to amend the complaint
and the hearing time line starts fresh after each amended
complaint.

Resolution meeting

After you have filed your due process complaint, the school
district must hold a resolution meeting with you and the |EP team
within 15 days of receipt of the due process complaint to give
parents and the school a chance to work through the complaint.

A resolution meeting can only be waived in writing.

» Any agreement signed during a resolution meeting can be
modified or cancelled within three business days.

» Any agreement reached is enforceable by a court.

» The agreement and meeting are not confidential. Therefore,
any information acquired at the meeting may be used as fact
finding or as a way to gather evidence by either party if the
school and the parents later go to a formal due process hearing.

» The school’s attorney is allowed to attend the resolution
meeting only if the parents are also represented by counsal.

M ediation

You have the option of going to mediation before you initiate due
process. But the school district is also required to offer mediation
during due process in addition to aresolution meeting. Thereis
no requirement for parents to attend mediation before proceeding
straight to due process. However, any agreement reached at
mediation is enforceable in court.

The Due Process Hearing

At adue process hearing, you have the right to present any
evidence or testimony in support of your case. The school district
has the burden of proof, which means the school has to prove
their actions were more reasonable then not. The case will go
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= TheIndividuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

* Under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act,
students with specific disabilities receive specia rights and
services based on their individual needs. Each child identified
under IDEA is entitled to afree appropriate public education
(FAPE). A FAPE has been interpreted through case law to
mean that your child is entitled to receive services necessary
to help him or her advance from grade to grade. However,
there is no right or school requirement to maximize the
student’s education potential. Your child is only entitled to
accommodations that are minimally appropriate to promote
him to the next grade.

* In order to qualify under IDEA for special education services, a
student must be classified as being:
* Autistic
* Deaf or hearing impaired
* Blind or sight impaired
» Emotionally disturbed
» Developmentally delayed
* Learning disabled
* Mentally disabled
* Physically impaired
* Speech impaired
* Language impaired
* A child with atraumatic brain injury
* Other health impaired.

» Generaly, students who qualify for special education services
under IDEA will be identified by the school district during
grade school or during pre-school. Every school has an
obligation to identify and serve children with disabilities.
However, it is not unusual for a parent to request that his or her
child be evaluated for special education services when the
school has not independently initiated an evaluation. If you
request an evaluation for special education, the school has 45
school days/ 90 calendar days to begin the evaluation process
after the school receives your written consent to evaluate.



» The IDEA requires school agencies to provide each child with
an Individual Education Program (IEP). ThelEPisa
document developed and implemented by a team composed of
parents, teachers and specialists who will work together to
provide services to the student. Initial diagnostic tests and
evaluations will be completed by specialists. The IEP team
will then use these assessments in formulating the range of
services for a student with special needs.

» The IEP will spell out the specific goals of the student and the
type and duration of related services such as therapists, aids or
assistive technology. The plan will also spell out the student’s
current level of performance and accommodations for the
Delaware Student Testing Program (DSTP). The plan further
determines the student’s placement, which can range from
mainstream regular education classes to a self contained
classroom to a private placement.

» Once you, as the parent, agree to the |EP document the team
can begin to implement it. At any time after the |EP begins,
you always have the right to request an |EP meeting or a

reevaluation if you feel that parts of the |EP are not appropriate

for your child.

| EP meetings
* Once the school determines that your child needs special
education, they must conduct an Individual Education Plan
meeting within 30 days of that determination.

» The IEP team consists of the parents, at |east one regular

education teacher, at least one special education teacher or one

special education provider (i.e. a speech therapist or
occupational therapist), a representative from the school (i.e.
the principal or assistant principal), an individual who is
qualified to interpret diagnostic evaluations (i.e. the
educational diagnostician or school psychologist), any expert
or individuals with special knowledge of the child that the
parents would like to invite, and if appropriate, the child.

Due Process

Before you file for due process, you have the right and
opportunity to consider alternatives such as calling an |IEP
meeting, mediation or a resolution meeting. If you decide to file
for due process, keep in mind that it may take along time to
resolve and your child will remain in his or her same placement
through the duration of the due process proceedings under “stay
put.” However, if you believe that due process is the most
appropriate means to resolve disagreements with the school
regarding your child's educational needs, the following are
important steps in handling due process.

1. The due process hearing is limited to issues raised in your
complaint. The hearing panel has 45 days from the date they
receive your complaint to schedule a hearing.

2. The complaint must be specific—i.e. “violation of FAPE” is
not a sufficient reason in the complaint to request a due
process hearing. Be explicit about what problems you seein
your child's special education plan (For example, a parent can
plead an inadequate number of therapy hours based on the
recommendations of the therapist or that no progress has been
made on a child’'s |EP goals and the goals are the same every
year.)

* You have 2 year s from the date you knew or should have
known of the action/basis for the complaint (unless you have
cause to show the school made misrepresentations about your
child’s progress).

3. After a parent/advocate files a due process complaint, the
school district must file a response to the complaint and
provide the parents/advocate with two copies within 10 days of
receipt of the complaint.

4. Alternatively, the school district can aso object to the
complaint within 15 days of receipt of the parents complaint if
it lacks sufficiency/specificity. When the complaint lacks
specificity, the parents can no longer proceed with due process.
Instead, an objection by the school that a complaint is
insufficient has the effect of starting the 45 day period for a
due process hearing again.
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» Administrative complaints are appropriate for cases where
thereis a clear denial of services or placement. Appropriate
administrative complaints include, for example, when your
child has not received therapy sessions listed in your child’'s
IEP, or when the school will not consider a certified evaluation
in developing an 1EP plan.

» Administrative complaints are only available for issues that
arise within one year of when you knew or should have known
about the problem(s).

» The complaint will go to the Department of Education, P.O.
Box 1402, Dover, DE 19903, and should include:

1. the name of the school or the agency you are filing the
complaint against;

2. a statement that the agency has violated a requirement of
IDEA or a Delaware special education regulation;

3. the facts of your claim;

4. the time frame in which the incident(s) occurred,;

5. adescription of the attempts made to resolve the issue(s)
before filing the administrative complaint; and your name,
address, phone number(s)

* Once you file an administrative complaint, the Department of
Education will investigate within 60 days and issue a decision.

* A member of the DOE will interview you to hear your side of
the situation and will also interview the school district.

» You aso have the option of going to mediation after you have
filed your administrative complaint to attempt a negotiation.

Administrative complaints are investigatory actions; you will not
go before a hearing panel to decide upon the complaint.

Therefore, any issues you have need to be thoroughly explained in

your complaint. Administrative complaints are a less contentious
and faster way to resolve disputes, but they are most appropriate
where no material factual disputes exist.

* All 1EP team members must attend your child’'s |EP meeting.
An |EP team member can only miss a meeting if he or she
requests excusal in writing and if the parent consents.

* Amendmentsto | EP: Any changes/revisions to an IEP
without a formal meeting must be agreed to in writing by the
parent(s).

* You should always request a copy of the amended IEP, since
one will not necessarily be provided to you after it is amended.

* Although you will be scheduled to have an |EP meeting every
year, your child is entitled to a reevaluation of tests, services,
or diagnoses every three years.

* However, at any time you can request a reevaluation if you
believe your child is not adequately placed, does not have
appropriate services, or needs additional accommodations.
You should always put your request in writing.

* To ensure that your child has appropriate |EP goals and
services, you should request a yearly meeting to go through
your child’'s progress. At that meeting you will be able to
assess if your child's goals or services need to change or if a
reevaluation is warranted. You are also entitled to meet with
the IEP team at any time, but it is helpful to make the request
in writing.

Transfer students
If your child transfers to a new school, the school must review the
|EP from the former school.

* The new school must adopt, modify, or draft a new IEP and
any behavior plans within a reasonably prompt amount of time.
Although no time frame exists, 60 days is often considered to
be a reasonable amount of time.

* The new school must also provide comparable services to the
previous placement until the new school assembles an IEP
team to adopt or revise your child's |EP to fit the new school’s
services.



Your Rightsasa Parent of a
Special Education Student

If you disagree with the suggested 504 plan or the IEP, you have
many options including due process, administrative complaints,
mediation and resolution meetings. However, your rights
regarding your child’s education are different under Section 504
and |DEA protections.

Section 504
* You always have the option to assemble a meeting and discuss
your areas of concern before taking a more adversarial step.

» Under Section 504, if you disagree with the proposed
accommodations, you have the right to file a grievance with

the local school district. A grievance would be in the form of a

letter, which spells out your complaints with your child’s 504
Plan.

* You can also file a complaint with the Office of Civil Rights of

the United States Department of Education within six months
from the date you knew or should have known about the
problem for which you are filing a complaint. In your
complaint you will need to specify the type of discrimination
your child suffered based on your child’s 504 Plan.

* You can obtain a complaint form on line at
http://wdcrobcol p01.ed.gov/CFA PPS/OCR/complaintform.cfm
or call 1-800-421-3481.

IDEA
» Asaparent of a student classified under IDEA, you have a
substantial number of options if you believe that your child
needs changes in his or her IEP.

* First, it isalways agood idea to try to request changes when
you are at the |EP meeting. You should explain your reasons
for wanting changes and listen to the |IEP team’s reasons if the

other members’ opinions differ from yours. You can request an
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I|EP meeting at any time, even if your child’'s IEPis not
scheduled for areview for several months.

* Alternatively, you can ask for areevaluation if you believe the
|EP team has failed to consider important information.

* You aso have the right to request an independent educational
evaluation, which the |EP team will be required to consider in
planning for the student. You can either pay for the evaluation
on your own, or you can request that the independent
evaluation be covered at public expense. Be aware that the
procedures to have the school district pay for an independent
evaluation are very specific.

Independent Evaluations

* First, you will need to put your request in writing. The school
district will either give you alist of evaluators and the district’s
requirements and procedures or the district may file for due
processif it does not agree that your child needs an
independent evaluation.

*» Bear in mind that an independent evaluation is only appropriate
if an independent evaluator is likely to offer different
recommendations, or a different classification and/or
placement for your child. An independent evaluation that
would duplicate an existing evaluation will not be helpful, and
isunlikely to be paid for at public expense.

Mediation

* If you find that you and the school have reached an impasse,
you can write the school to request mediation. The school I1EP
team and the parents can attend mediation with a neutral third
party at no cost to the parents. It is often a successful, efficient
way to resolve differences between the parties.

Administrative Complaints

* If you are not satisfied with the school’s special education
services and you have hit an impasse at meetings, you also
have the option of filing an administrative complaint with the
Delaware Department of Education.
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