Gearing Up For Your Transitions

The Zero Tolerance Alcohol Law
The following information is from the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicle.

If you are under 21 years of age, as little as one drink can make it illegal for you to drive. The law
says that anyone under the age of 21 years, who drives, operates or has actual physical control
of a vehicle, an off-highway vehicle, or a moped while consuming or after having consumed
alcohol, shall have their driver's license revoked for a period of 2 months for the first offense and
not less than 6 months or more than 12 months for each subsequent offense. If the underage
person does not have a driver's license, the person shall be fined $200.00 for the first offense
and not less than $400.00 nor more than $1,000.00 for each subsequent offense.

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO BE DRUNK TO LOSE YOUR LICENSE IN DELAWARE!
If you are under 21 as little as one drink makes it illegal for you to drive.

In Delaware, you may be arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if you are driving,
operating, or in actual physical control of a vehicle, an off-highway vehicle, moped or bicycle
while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. For complete details of the Delaware Driving
Under the Influence Laws visit:
http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/driver_improvement/dr_di_dui.shtml

FIRST OFFENSE
» 3 month revocation of license if driver is licensed
- 12 months revocation for refused chemical test
SECOND AND SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES
- Second Offense — 12 month revocation of license if driver is licensed
- Second Offense- 18 months revocation for refused chemical test

* Third or Subsequent Offenses — 18 month revocation of license if driver
is licensed

* Third Offense — 24 months revocation for refused chemical test
License Reinstatement Fee
* Fee -$143.75

Other fees, classes and prison time may apply for repeat offenders.
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